Posted by: ladybughugs | May 22, 2008

Heartbreaking

I don’t know how I’ll get through this post without crying…

Back in January I heard a song on the radio that brought tears to my eyes. I was off from work that day doing last minute errands before my nieces sweet 16 party. I heard this song by Steven Curtis Chapman (and I picked a version with his intro so you get the background):

www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B1XM9jWiLI

My niece is a dancer so I couldn’t help thinking of her on the day of her sixteenth birthday and still do every time I hear the song.

This morning on the radio I heard that one of his daughters, his inspirations for the song, was killed in an accident in their driveway. The family was out in front of their home enjoying some quality family time and their teenage son had to run out to the store. He backed over his little sister. She was life-flighted to a childrens hospital where she later died from her injuries.

I can’t help but think of her brother. My heart breaks for the entire family, but especially for him. I don’t know the details of what happened, but I know that it only takes a split second for little kids to run into harms way.

This type of accident happens too frequently. We go about our business and forget that little kids are quick. And they don’t think about consequences. And in their tunnel-vision they forget those things we’ve told them a million times. Please, PLEASE, PLEASE, unless your kids are safely buckled into their seats double-check, triple-check, make sure you have a visual on them before you put the car in gear. I will be praying for little Maria and her family.

Now, go hug your children. I’m going to get a tissue.

Responses

  1. Wow – that’s tragic. I said a prayer.

  2. Listen when you have the chance – –

    God bless,
    Chris
    http://chrisschellenberg.com/

  3. An unbelievable tragedy…… I pray that they will feel God’s strength to somehow help them contend with all that has happened and all that is yet to come….

  4. (I didn’t know how to get my smiley face picture off of that space next to my comment, or I certainly would have done it. It looks inappropriate, and I’m sorry, but I’m new to this and lack the knowledge of what to do – I really hope no one takes offense….)


Leave a Reply

Categories

