Posted by: ladybughugs | May 27, 2008

Need Legos.

Last week we had a Cub Scout pack meeting. I like to go to the pack meetings so that I hear what’s going on, what’s being planned, what we need to sign up for, what needs to paid for. If I don’t go we miss things, business does not get taken care of. So I go. H and Scout met Lil’bug and me in front of the school (I was running late, traffic, grrrr!).

After the meeting I loaded the kids into the van and Scout tells me we have to go to Target or WalMart. Um, no, it was 8:20. Bedtime is 8:30. A shopping trip would keep us out way past bedtime and then we’ll have trouble waking up in the morning.

But we have to go! We need Legos! I brought my money! Pleeeeze!

We need Lego? Last time I checked Lego wasn’t on the same list as oh, I don’t know, air, water, food. When did you start playing with Lego? I thought you were saving your money for that new Pokemon game for your Gameboy?

I was, but this is for the class, that is just for me. This is more important. I can wait for that.

Whoa, he’d had his eye on the calendar since Easter when he got the $5 gift card, counting the days until the release. Almost throwing a party on the release date. Since then he’s been saving his allowance money so he can buy it. The same money he now wants to spend on Legos. What’s up?

Well, it’s been raining here. A lot. I guess there have been a lot of indoor recesses. I think everyone is getting cabin fever to a certain degree. So indoor recess has probably gotten a bit louder, a bit rowdier. His class is about 2/3 boys so I wouldn’t be at all surprised if his teacher’s nerves are more than a little frayed at this point. Legos are a quiet activity. Many of the kids like chess, but apparently there isn’t enough time during recess to play chess. They’ve been permitted to play with the playground balls in the gym, but apparently they’ve been taken away. Something about an ‘exit’ sign breaking or falling, or some such thing.

So, last night while he was getting ready for bed I dug around in my closet and found a Lego ‘Technic’ building set. A bulldozer, I think. Not motorized. Boy, Lego has come a long way since I was a kid. Did you know you could spend $150 on a motorized Lego bulldozer? I did not know that. I think I was saving the set for a rainy day or one of his friend’s birthdays or something. Or maybe the Lego store that is no longer in the mall had a sale at some point so I bought something to have on hand in an emergency. I’d forgotten all about it until I came across it over the weekend.

When I came back to give him the good news he was sitting on his bed. Not in his pajamas. Not even close. He didn’t get the set. I stashed it. He found it this morning. JOY!

There are 200+ pieces in this set. Not 200+ standard Lego pieces, but pieces that are designed to go together a specific way to make a specific thing. What do you think the chances are that 4-6 nine- and ten-year-old boys will be able to work together with only 200+ pieces in a harmonious manner? Without losing anything critical to the construction? Or having the teacher begging them to take the ball into the gym, already?

I have to say, I’m really proud of him for putting his own wants aside to think about his friends, the class, the ‘community’ around him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

