Posted by: ladybughugs | June 6, 2008

Divine Intervention, part I

I started writing this a few weeks ago. I’ll be posting it in installments…

Have you ever felt there’s something bigger than us guiding us through this thing called life? A higher power that helps protect us and guide us? I’m convinced there is and I saw proof of it this morning.

I had stopped by my accountant’s office to pick up a copy of our tax return and was headed on to my next stop, Costco. I was stopped at a red light. I needed to make a left turn and there were a couple of cars coming from the opposite direction, also waiting. The light turned green and I took my foot off the brake. I usually pull into the intersection in anticipation of the turn, and wait for oncoming traffic to pass, but something stopped me. I put my foot back on the brake. A car came from the left and ran the red light. If I had done what I’d done so many times before, pull into the intersection, I would have been hit. She missed the cars coming from the opposite direction because they hadn’t gotten that far into the intersection. I don’t think she even realized there was a light there.

I drove on both in shock and thanking God. When I got to Costco I called my husband first, then my mother. By the time I got on the phone with her it was all I could do to keep it together. The shock/surprise had worn off and the enormity of the incident took over.

Responses

  1. Had that happen once at 2 am on my way home. Turned down my road and something tole me to stop… only 300 yards from home. I did, and then a deer came across the road, I would have hit it if I hadn’t stopped. So thankful God stopped me! So I waited a couple of beats, and no sooner had I decided I could go again, then 2 more deer followed the first. I still remember it like it was yesterday, but it was 11 years ago and I was 4 months pregnant with N-boo!

  2. […] how I’ve felt the hand of God in the course it has taken. You’ll find parts I and II here and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

