Posted by: ladybughugs | June 27, 2008

Divine Intervention, part III

This post is the third in a series of reflections on my life and how I’ve felt the hand of God in the course it has taken. You’ll find parts I and II here and here.

After we built our home and moved in one of the first things I did was start making contacts so I could work. There were very few opportunities in the town into which we had just moved. My options were to work at home and rely on overnight carriers or commute into the city (a 90 minute commute at 4:30 a.m. or a 2-1/2 hour commute, or more, later during rush hour).

One of my first calls was to the ‘local’ office of the agency for which I had worked before we moved. It was 50 miles away, but, nonetheless, local to where we lived. We were out in the boonies, an hour and a half from the city (when there was no traffic). The only time there was no traffic was in the middle of the night.

Turned out the office manager there was also the office manager at the agency’s office that I had worked out of before (divine intervention). She split her time between the two offices. I did not know that before. She knew me, she knew my work, she knew the type of work that I wanted to do and at which I excelled. She had a perfect placement for me. And, oh, by the way, she said, it’s just like XYZ Company where I had worked out of the other office in that, once you’re in, you’re in. It’s hard to get out. Because there’s always more work to do. I’m still with that company today. More than 12 years later. I’m on staff now, have been for nine years (next week, more on that later because it’s not without it’s own story of divine intervention).

The path I’ve been on took a major turn because that office manager split her time in two different temp agency offices, the company I was placed at (my current employer) was in the middle of a very tight production cycle, and it was close enough to be able to commute every day. I can’t imagine where we’d be if I had to commute into the city every day or if I had to constantly look for new clients in order to work at home.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

Categories

