Posted by: ladybughugs | December 19, 2008

Snow Day!

I’m going to try to update this post throughout the day…

10:45 last night: I got the call, they’ve canceled school and postponed the Christmas show. We saw it coming; they’ve forecasted 6-10 inches starting at daybreak and going throughout the day with the worst between dismissal and rush hour.

8:00 a.m.:  It’s not snowing yet. H went out to work at 4:30, he has a big job due at noon, he woke me up when he brought Lil’bug back to bed. Lil’bug woke me up because she had to go potty.  Scout woke me up to ask if school was canceled or if we were late. I guess he missed the message, spelled out with LeapFrog magnetic letters on the refrigerator:

N O    S C H O O L
B A C K    T _    B E D

(I ran out of ‘Os’.) H woke me up when he called from work to ask about the status of school and the Christmas show tonight. I guess he missed the message, too. I made chocolate chip cookies for Lil’bug’s class for their holiday party last night. Scout woke me up to ask if he could have one. (Before breakfast?) He made himself and Lil’bug oatmeal. He came back to ask what the color of the week is (Lil’bug’s preschool teacher has a color, a shape, a letter, a number of the week.). You woke me up for that!? OK, I guess I’m up.

So, now I need to keep my kids entertained in the house without going stir-crazy. Fortunately, we had a lot of warning and I got a lot of gift-wrapping and last-minute shopping done yesterday.

9:35 a.m.: The first tiny, tentative flakes have started to fall. I tried to get the kids out of the house for a quick errand, but no coaxing motivated Scout. Lil’bug is ready for anything, she just wants out!

10:30 a.m.: Made biscuits with the kids. The first salt spreader just went by. Lil’bug is watching Land Before Time. I think it may be the first time she’s watched it.

1:45: Kids had lunch about an hour ago. About half way through her bowl of spaghetti primavera, Lil’bug decided she was done. ‘OK, nap time.’ Off she went. I was straightening up in the kitchen and realized she wasn’t bouncing around in the family room. ‘Where’s Lil’bug?’ In bed. Just like that? No fuss? Uh oh, I bet she didn’t go potty before climbing in. Ten minutes after she disappeared I went in to check on her. OUT! I woke her to carry her to the bathroom, back to bed, out again. Scout and H went out to shovel the first 4.5 inches of snow.

Responses

  1. Oh yay for snow days. We had one of them up here in Chicago. Only, I still had to work. Just with slippers on and without a commute. Hope you’re staying warm this weekend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

