Posted by: ladybughugs | January 7, 2009

Inspiring

Yesterday I was suffering from Starbucks withdrawal.

Days ago, I’d finished reading How Starbucks Saved My Life by Michael (Mike) Gill and was really in the mood for a Mocha. for days! Today I satisfied my craving. The weather, an ice storm, caused a 90-minute delay for Scout’s school and I figured, what’s another 10 minutes?

You know what that 10 minutes cost me? The last parking space in the upper parking lot. The lot closer to the employee entrance at work. Worth it.

The book? Was great. The author chronicled his year working a job he never imagined himself working. He was, in his own words, ‘master of his universe.’ When he hit bottom he wasn’t sure how he was going to make his next payment.

I think everyone born into a life of privilege should be required to work a year in a service industry or volunteer in the community. I think the world would be a kinder, gentler place if everyone was required to serve others. The book made me want to drive up to Bronxville to shake the man’s hand… and also apply for a job at Starbucks… like I have time to commit to something else!

Leave a Reply

Categories

