Posted by: ladybughugs | May 14, 2009

Maybe It’s Just Me

I belong to a women’s group in my community. Our main focus is to plan activities for the women and children in our community. We have a budget line in the community budget to cover the expenses associated with kiddie parties and hospitality and snacks and seminars and all of the other various things we do.

We have a couple of fund-raisers each year that provides scholarship money for our graduating senior class. Whenever we advertise the fund-raisers we state it’s for the benefit of the scholarship fund.

In the spring, when the committee decides the number and amount of the scholarships they hold a couple hundred aside as a donation to the senior class for their graduation party. Now, maybe it’s where I came from…I paid for most of my own college education. I appreciate how expensive it is and how difficult it can be to cover everything. It seems to me that $200 could help one more student pay for his or her books for a semester. It’s not like we’re talking about a lot of money, for me it’s just the principle of the thing. Here I am helping to raise money to help a student with their college education and someone else has decided to divert those funds for a party. It doesn’t make me happy.

Then they wonder why no one comes to meetings and helps out with fund-raisers and participates in activities. I think I might need to step back from this committee and not support their fund-raising efforts.

Leave a Reply

Categories

