Posted by: ladybughugs | May 22, 2009

Summer Goals

Here I sit, faced with the official start of the summer season. I find myself reflecting on summers gone by. Highlights and low. Successes and failures.

Last year about this time I made a to-do list for myself. I didn’t have any delusions about actually accomplishing everything on my list, but I hoped to get something checked off. I wish I could say I consider my attempt successful. While I did get a couple of things accomplished, I wish I could have done more.

    Let’s face it: #1 is never-ending
    #2 is too hot, too cold, or too buggy.
    #4: I recently sold a couple of things that were taking up space, this I am extremely happy about. There is much more to do.

    #3 & 5: I have no excuse, except I’m lazy.

    #6: ongoing, oh the battles!

    I won’t make the same mistake this year. Yes, I will try to accomplish something around the house by the end of the summer, maybe pick up the list where I left off last year. I’ve also started a new list here:

    A list that will require a bit more ass-sitting and less strenuous physical activity. A summer reading list.

    summer reading

    Forster: Where Angels Fear to Tread; Austen: Sense and Sensibility; Dostoyevsky: Crime and Punishment; Austen: Emma; Bronte: Jane Eyre

    If you’re thinking these all look remarkably similar, it’s no accident. Call it a perk of the trade.

    I’ve realized in the last year and a half that my formal education was seriously lacking in its exposure to classic literature. Call it a hazard of the trade.

    Yes, I took Lit in high school and college, but I picked my own courses and, for some reason, I gravitated to Shakespeare. I took it in high school, I took it in college, I took it AGAIN in college when I spent a semester abroad just outside London (where I also took a course in North American authors, seriously? what was I thinking? I suppose the perspective was worth it, maybe.).

    I’m hoping I can get my kids on board with this plan. The official name: leave mommy alone so she can sit on her butt and forget the world exists…call me if the house is on fire or someone is bleeding or broken.

    Number two on my to-do list this summer is a vacation (or a stay-cation, geez, I hate that term). At the end of last summer I was one bitter person. I was venomous. I despised everyone who had enjoyed a little time away from the day-to-day grind. I was disappointed in myself for not making it happen for me and my family. Yes, our day at the beach at the end of the summer was awesome, but I needed more. I needed more down-time, more time away from the daily chores and routines. I’m already feeling like I should have a plan in place. An escape plan. Something more than one day at the beach with the family.

    I love this:

    080822_my-bday24

    and this:

    080822_my-bday29

    and, of course, this:

    080822_my-bday08

    One day is just not enough.

    Responses

    1. we’ll have to plan a vaca once the girls and I move up…

    2. Oh dear, I haven’t even thought of a list for this summer yet … maybe just ‘sleep more’! We’ll see.

      I like your reading list. I’ve got a couple of things lined up on mine, too. First is to finish Three Cups of Tea and then move on to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. We’ll see what else finds its way onto the list!

      Enjoy your summer!


    Leave a Reply

        Categories

