Posted by: ladybughugs | June 19, 2009

Motorcycles!

Every year about this time we’re treated to a parade of big, loud motorcycles. I guess they call it a rally.

Gooch’s Garlic Run is sponsored by the Blue Knights NJ to benefit families of children with catastrophic illnesses. They meet up at the mall and ride Route 80 to Route 280 to the Holland Tunnel for fried calamari in Little Italy. Which only slightly oversimplifies it. The important part is that they probably raise about $20K to help parents help their children. (and some nincompoops have the gall to complain because they’ve been inconvenienced for oh, about 20-30 minutes, gah!)

Most years I get stuck in rubber-necking westbound traffic. It’s one of the only times I REALLY DON’T MIND being stuck in traffic. Occasionally, I’ve been home, with my feet up, hot and exhausted, when I heard the roar of the engines out on the highway. This year I decided to sit back and relax and enjoy it. You know, live in the moment, not worrying about where I need to be and what still needs doing before I lay my head down at what will probably be a too-late hour.

I picked Lil’bug up at preschool and stopped for gas and a bite to eat for her. (Because, really, I get no peace unless she’s had something to eat.) Our ultimate destination was the baseball field where Scout was for his first practice for summer ball…right around the corner from where the bikes were congregating. After practice H would take her home and I would take him to his scout meeting. I knew that going straight to the field would be a huge mistake, because we’d get stuck in all sorts of bike-related traffic around the mall. There were electronic signs up for miles around on all major routes alerting the public that “hey! yes, you! traffic! delays!” No one can say they weren’t warned and no one can say there aren’t alternate routes around the area.

Anyway, I found a grassy area and pulled off the highway and parked alongside. Hey, all the cool kids were doing it! Most everyone had dressed appropriately, in warm sweatshirts (and I can’t believe I just typed that in the middle of June!) and had set up their camp chairs and coolers along the highway and were sitting and waiting. It looked like a big tailgate party along the highway. Lil’bug and I, on the other hand, were dressed for preschool and work, respectively, and it was too chilly out for short sleeves, ugh. So, I let her out of her seat to sit in the front passenger seat next to me. To say she was excited was an understatement. I wish I’d brought along bungee cords to tie her down in her seat.

My anticipation grew when I saw that there was no traffic coming down the hill from the mall. There were a few cars that got on using the entrance ramp, but I could tell they had stopped traffic for the bikes. Then, in the distance, I saw the flashes of red and white and blue police and fire truck and ambulance lights, and it was so sparkly! I’m really sorry I didn’t have the foresight yesterday morning as I was trying to get the kids out the door to school to grab my camera. Here will this do? How about this? It’s not the same, I know.

For twenty minutes, the motorcycles roared by, double-file, in their far left lane. Our sight was blocked by the occasional westbound 18-wheeler, but for the most part we had a great view.

In lieu of motorcycle pictures here:

DSC_0854w

We managed to get out on Sunday before it started raining…again!

Responses

  1. good news is it looks like your grass is growing nicely. 😉

  2. […] an hour and a half to drive it each way, more in the bad weather or when there was an accident or motorcycle rally. After 9/11, with H working in the city (and hour and half commute with NO traffic) and my commute […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

