Posted by: ladybughugs | July 20, 2009

15 Minutes

My kids picture was featured on the cover of the local newspaper this week. We have extra copies.

I realized this morning that maybe I should think about adding some extra time to get where I need to go to stop for a few minutes to thank those who stop me to comment on what a wonderful picture it is and that, if I call the newspaper, they might give me a copy. My neighbor stopped me as I was trying to get Lil’bug and myself out of the house. He was trimming a bush, forsythia, I think…at 7:30 in the morning! I compare him to the battery bunny. He just keeps going and going and going…

Have I mentioned here the difficulty I have getting myself and the kids out of the house in the morning? I love my neighbors, really, but he’s out trimming a hedge at 7:30 in the morning?

The picture is not on their website or I’d link to it. The caption is there with pictures from the firemens’ carnival at the end of June so you’ll have to take my word for it…the picture is okay, not great (or maybe that’s just me in my hypercritical perfectionism). Lil’bug was acting goofy and had a really cheesy smile. After the photographer took it and left I turned to my friend and said, “they’ll never use that.” Ha!

What is great is the story ‘below the fold’ which is on the website here. Seriously, this guy has volunteered his time over the past 50 YEARS to boys that were not his own. Scout and I recently attended a troop dinner where the surprise was on Mr. Green. They used the dinner as an opportunity to bestow this honor on him. In the 80 year history of the troop they have awarded the honor of Eagle Scout to 87 young men, two in June alone. All of the boys in the past 55 years, or so, had to go through Mr. Green to get there. He is more than an adviser to the boys. He has counseled them on so many different aspects of being a man, of being a citizen, of being human, in a way that was both quiet and strong. He is one of the most unassuming people I have ever met. He’s put in countless hours in troop meetings, in leader’s meetings, on trips, and camping in a tent on the ground in the rain. That’s dedication. I hope to be able to say, in six or seven years that he has been a big part of Scout’s experience with the troop. After 50 years what’s another six or seven, right?

He really deserves to be ‘above the fold,’ but I guess since my kids’ picture went with the fireworks and there’s so much more visibly spectacular about fireworks my kids ended up there. But really, you can’t call fireworks a “Living Treasure.”

Eagle Scouts

Eagle Scouts

This picture is of all those that had earned the rank of Eagle Scout that were available to attend the day of the dinner. The guy on the scooter on the left? His grandson is on his way to earning Eagle Scout in the same troop as his grandfather.

Leave a Reply

Categories

